App Compatibility: iOS and Android Support
Short answer: A smart bassinet app is the phone companion that adjusts motion, sound, and presets over Bluetooth. Whether an app works on iOS or Android is a maker-stated detail: the catalogue says "app-connected" or "Bluetooth", while the maker's app page is where OS support is written. If a listing does not name a phone operating system, treat it as "not stated" and ask the maker. Common app controls include motion speed, sound presets, and in some models remote monitoring.
What app compatibility means on a listing
On a smart bassinet listing, the words "app-connected", "Bluetooth" and "app control" tell you a phone companion exists. They do not tell you which phone operating systems the app supports. iOS and Android are separate support details, and most listings do not print them in the title or the first bullet.
This site compares stated details. When a guide says a bassinet is app-connected, it means the maker's page lists a phone app as a control option, not that every phone or every app version is covered. A missing OS line is treated the way any missing detail is treated: not stated by the seller.
- Listing words that name the connection: app-connected, Bluetooth, app control, connected model names
- Listing words that usually do not appear: iOS, Android, phone version, app version
Where iOS and Android support is written
The maker's app page is the place where OS support appears. The UPPAbaby Soma page describes the UPPAbaby Connect app and says Bluetooth connectivity lets you adjust the bassinet remotely; the Happiest Baby page describes an app to customize settings on the SNOO; the Cradlewise page describes app features such as sleep tracking, personalization and a Caregiver Team. None of those pages print a one-line iOS and Android statement in the text this site collected, which is a useful example of how support details live in app store listings, not in the product page.
The reliable step is to open the app page in the app store for your phone and read the Compatibility or Requirements section. If the maker's site does not link an app page, ask the maker directly before you buy. A listing that only says "Bluetooth" or "app-connected" is not evidence that the app runs on a specific phone.
What the app controls, as the makers state it
When a maker states app features, they are usually the same controls the bassinet has on board, moved to a phone screen. The UPPAbaby Soma page says the app adjusts motion, speed, sound and presets, and that MotionSync lets you match your movements through the app. The SNOO page says the app customizes settings. The Cradlewise page says the app lets you monitor remotely, track sleep patterns and personalize settings, and that some features such as Spotify playback and a Caregiver Team are available with a subscription tier called Nurture Plus.
For a connected household, voice assistants can be part of the picture too: the UPPAbaby Soma comparison table lists voice assistant platforms as smart control options. If that matters to you, keep it on your question list for the maker.
- Common app controls on stated maker pages: motion on and off, speed level, sound preset, timer, presets
- Stated extras: remote monitoring (Cradlewise), sleep pattern tracking (Cradlewise), twin cribs on one account (Cradlewise)
When you want a bassinet without an app
App-connected does not mean app-only. The UPPAbaby Soma page lists a touch-sensitive, backlit interface for adjustments without the app, so the phone is an extra control layer, not the only one. Other models may pair the app with a remote or onboard buttons.
If your household prefers no phone app, look for listings that name onboard controls, and ask the maker whether every feature works without pairing. For a comparison of app control versus remote control, see app control versus remote control, and for the main comparison of models, see the smart bassinet guide.
Questions to ask the maker about the app
Before you buy an app-connected bassinet, write down these questions: Which phone operating systems does the app support? Which versions? Is an account required, and what does the account store? Does the bassinet need the app for motion, sound and presets, or do onboard buttons cover the basics? Can the app run without Wi-Fi, using Bluetooth only? See Bluetooth versus Wi-Fi for the terms.
Two more practical questions: are any app features subscription-only, and how do app updates change the controls? Cradlewise is an example of a maker that states some features, like Spotify playback, come with a paid tier, so the subscription question is worth asking for any connected model. For the data side, see app privacy. For pairing steps in general terms, see assembly.
How to compare two app-connected listings
Compare what the listings state: connection type, onboard controls, sound and motion options, and whether notifications are listed. The guides do this on stated details only; they do not rank apps by feel or by customer opinion.
Two listings can both say "app-connected" while one lists Bluetooth only and the other lists Wi-Fi with notifications. That difference matters if you want remote viewing or alerts. Keep the maker's app page open next to the listing to see which control features are named, and use the app-connected guide below. For alert behavior, see app notifications.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want a phone app that controls motion, sound and presets | An app-connected bassinet with Bluetooth listed | Best App Connected Bassinet 2026: Smart Bassinet Reviews |
| You want a bassinet that works without a phone | A model with onboard controls, compared in the main guide | Best Smart Bassinet (2026): Smart Bassinet Reviews |
| You want cry detection plus an app | A cry-detection bassinet with an app listed | Best Bassinet with Cry Detection in 2026: 5 Picks |
| You want a premium tier with a full app feature set | A luxury smart bassinet | Best Luxury Smart Bassinets in 2026: 7 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want app control on a budget | A smart bassinet in the under-300 tier | Best Smart Bassinet Under $300 in 2026: 12 Picks by Stated Details |
| You want a connected household that includes voice assistants | A model that lists voice assistant integration | Best App Connected Bassinet 2026: Smart Bassinet Reviews |
Questions
How do I know if a smart bassinet app works on my phone?
Check the maker's app page or the app store listing for your phone. The catalogue says "app-connected" or "Bluetooth" when a phone companion exists, but the OS support line usually appears on the app store page. If the maker does not publish that, ask before buying.
Which features can the app control?
On stated maker pages: the UPPAbaby Soma app adjusts motion, speed, sound and presets; the SNOO app customizes settings; the Cradlewise app monitors remotely, tracks sleep patterns and personalizes settings, with Spotify and a Caregiver Team available on a subscription tier.
Can I use a smart bassinet without the app?
Many models include onboard controls. The UPPAbaby Soma page lists a touch-sensitive interface for adjustments without the app. Ask the maker whether every feature works without pairing the phone.
Are smart bassinet apps free?
Some features are stated as part of a paid tier. Cradlewise lists Spotify playback and Caregiver Team as available with Nurture Plus. For other models, ask the maker whether an account or subscription is required.
What does "not stated by the seller" mean for apps?
It means the listing does not print the detail. When a listing says "app-connected" but not iOS or Android, this site treats that as an open question for the maker rather than a guess.
Can one app handle more than one bassinet?
Cradlewise states that twin cribs are supported on one app account. For other makers, ask whether the app supports multiple units or multiple baby profiles.
Recent updates
- : First published.