Smart Bassinet Charging Time: What to Expect
Short answer: Most smart bassinets do not have a battery to charge. They run on an AC adapter that plugs into a wall outlet, so there is no charging time to plan around. When a listing names a rechargeable battery, the charging time is usually not stated by the seller; the maker's page is the place to look, and if it is missing there, ask the maker directly.
What charging means on a smart bassinet listing
Most smart bassinets are powered by an AC adapter that plugs into a wall outlet. A listing that says 'AC adapter included' or 'no batteries required' is describing a plug-in model: the bassinet runs while it is connected and has no charging routine. The UPPAbaby Soma page states 'no batteries required and AC adapter included', which is a clear example of a plug-in smart bassinet.
The word 'charging' appears when a listing names a rechargeable battery. Charging time is the length of time the battery needs to be connected to a power source before it is full. On a listing, charging time sits in the feature list, not in the title; the title usually names the motion type or the brand, while power details appear lower in the bullet list. For the broader power picture, read the power options guide.
Why charging time is rarely in the listing
Smart bassinet listings state whether a model is plug-in or battery powered, but they rarely state a charging time. When a number is missing from a listing, this site describes it as 'not stated by the seller'. That phrase means the seller has not printed the detail, and this guide cannot fill it in with a guess.
The maker's product page is the next place to check. Of the makers represented in this catalogue, the UPPAbaby Soma page states that the bassinet requires no batteries, and the Happiest Baby page lists a SNOO Power Adapter as an accessory. Neither page prints a charging time because those models run from a wall outlet rather than a rechargeable battery.
Plug-in models and the AC adapter
For a plug-in smart bassinet, the daily routine is simple: connect the AC adapter to the bassinet and to a wall outlet, and the bassinet runs while it is connected. There is no charging time to plan and no need to unplug the bassinet for a charge. The best smart bassinet guide compares plug-in models on the features the listings state.
Some makers include the power adapter in the box and others sell it as an accessory. The UPPAbaby Soma page lists the AC adapter among the included items; the Happiest Baby page lists a SNOO Power Adapter as an accessory. When the adapter is an accessory, read the maker's page before buying so you know what arrives with the bassinet.
Battery models: questions for the maker
When a listing names a rechargeable battery, treat the charging time as an open question. The maker's page sometimes answers it; if it does not, the detail remains 'not stated by the seller' and the answer has to come from the maker directly. The battery life article covers the other side of the question: how long a charge lasts during use.
- What is the charging time from empty to full?
- How long does one full charge last during use?
- Can the bassinet run while it is charging?
- What cable and adapter are included for charging?
- Is there a charging indicator light on the bassinet?
Comparing two listings without a charging time
When you compare two smart bassinets, write down the power wording from each listing. If one says 'AC adapter included' and another says 'rechargeable battery', you are comparing a plug-in model with a battery model. The plug-in model has no charging time; the battery model's charging time is the detail you check with the maker. The plug-in vs battery comparison explains the difference in general terms.
If both listings name a battery and neither states a charging time, the two listings match on that point. This site compares listings on stated details only, so a missing charging time is recorded as 'not stated by the seller' rather than assumed. Use the maker's page to close the power questions, then compare the motion and app features in the matching buying guide such as the self-rocking bassinets list.
| Listing wording | What it means for charging |
|---|---|
| AC adapter included | Plug-in model with no charging routine |
| No batteries required | Plug-in model; no battery to charge |
| Rechargeable battery | Battery model; charging time is usually not stated |
| Charging time not stated by the seller | The detail is missing from the listing and the maker's page |
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| You want a bassinet with no charging routine | A plug-in listing that says 'AC adapter included' | Best Smart Bassinet (2026): Smart Bassinet Reviews |
| You want app control without managing a battery | An app-connected plug-in listing | Best App Connected Bassinet 2026: Smart Bassinet Reviews |
| You want a battery-powered model and need a stated charging time | A maker that prints the charging time or answers your question | Best Smart Bassinet (2026): Smart Bassinet Reviews |
| You want motion features with a constant power connection | A self-rocking or auto-glide plug-in listing | Best Self-Rocking Bassinets in 2026: 12 Picks by Stated Details |
| You are comparing a plug-in and a battery model for a second room | The listing whose power source is stated clearly | Best Smart Bedside Bassinet (2026): Smart Bassinet Reviews |
Questions
Do smart bassinets need charging?
Most smart bassinets plug into a wall outlet through an AC adapter and have no battery to charge. The UPPAbaby Soma page states 'no batteries required and AC adapter included', and the SNOO power adapter is listed as an accessory for a plug-in model.
Why is charging time not on the listing?
Listings print what the seller chooses to include. Charging time is often 'not stated by the seller'. The maker's page is the next place to check, and if the number is missing there, ask the maker directly.
Can I use a smart bassinet while it is charging?
That depends on the model. If the maker's page does not say whether the bassinet can run while connected to the charger, ask the maker directly.
What does 'AC adapter included' mean?
It means the bassinet arrives with the power adapter it needs to run from a wall outlet, so there is no charging routine and no charging time to plan. For a broader look at plug-in models, see the smart bassinet guide on this site.
What should I check before the first charge?
Read the maker's manual for the charging cable and the outlet type, keep the manual near the bassinet, and follow the maker's instructions for the first power-on. The assembly article covers the unboxing and setup steps in general terms.
Recent updates
- : First published.